There are no bad owners, only bad dogs

2004-12-14

It makes me want to poke someone's eye out.

The lovely and talented Socar Myles coined a new word some time ago that I have the opportunity to use far too frequently: Idiodyssey.

I went on one today. I need stamps in order to send mail home. That�s pretty obvious.

I went to the post office because that seemed like a logical place to find stamps. Again, obvious. So far, no one should be thrown off by my erratic logic.

I waited in line at the post office. It was a long line. The post office is in a news agent shop, so small children with sticky fingers (snot? candy?) kept shoving past my knees to get to the stand with the flashing Rudolph nose antler display.

After I�d waited some time, a gentleman in front of me achieved his turn at the coveted hole-in-the-glass. He asked for stamps. Small world.

�We�re out of stamps,� the cranky lady said. �Come back Thursday.�

�Do you have any smaller values of stamps? Can I make up 47p?�

�No. Can�t make 47p.�

�What about 21p stamps? Do you have any of those?�

�Yes.�

Is it me? If you put three stamps of 21p value on an envelope, that makes 63p. That is 16p more than needed, but it is, in fact, a way to get adequate postage onto the envelope.

The woman continued arguing with the man about how she couldn�t supply him with stamps in spite of the fact that she apparently had stamps.

I got out of line. I went to the liquor store. They, fortunately, were not out of liquor.

It was an idiodyssey.

5 comments so far

birth & death