There are no bad owners, only bad dogs

2006-09-28

Maybe they'll fix the glitch.

Well, Internet, strange things are indeed afoot at the Circle K. It�s the end of a way of life for me. The Captain has left the building. Captain Wacky, my supervisor in some shape or form for the seven years I�ve worked at EduMart, is no longer in the employ of EduMart. I mean, they�re still paying her, but she doesn�t have to come to work anymore. She now serves the eccentric millionaire, the one who actually has used the word �edutainment� without a shred of irony.

This has many implications. The one that no one but me cares about is that my supervisor is leaving, but our crack (-headed) HR department hasn�t seen fit to a) tell me who my new supervisor is, b) ask me what it is I would say I actually do here, c) ask me about my thoughts and feelings. So I am going to just ride with that. I�m going to wait and see just how long it takes for someone to realize that I don�t have a supervisor and don�t turn in timesheets anymore. I will guess it will be about a week and a half before someone figures it out. By then I will be prepared to act with righteous indignation � we have these �corporate values� posters all over the place that claim that we �value our people.� Does this course of action say �We think highly of you�? Just call me Milton.

Employment turmoil has been the theme of the month. I don�t like uncertainty at all, and I am deeply mired in it. I kind of want to be fired for the severance package, but EduMart owes me a bonus for inventing something patentable, and I don�t know if they have to pay me the bonus if I beg to be fired. I kind of have another job lined up, but it�s all still very nebulous and hazy. I don�t want to ask anyone if they have to pay the bonus if they fire me until I have the other job sewn up, because then they�ll figure out some loophole that will result in me owing them money� Oy.

So tomorrow there�s a little tea and crumpets party for the Cap�n to say goodbye to a select few, and unfortunately, one of those that she has invited is the infamous Fat Bastard who adopted then abused and neglected my little Trudy, then didn�t lift a finger to help me find her a new home. So he is DEAD to me. And he�s recently all full of himself because he�s engaged. And at first I was all �Eeeew,� because, who�d marry that loser? And then I found out the following pieces of information: they met online, he met her parents after they�d known each other for three weeks, he is always telling anyone who�ll listen (and even people who won�t) that they share the same deeply Catholic values, and� wait for it� she�s pregnant. They�ve known each other for all of two months. So all of that makes me cackle with glee. Wanker.

So that�s my story. In other news, it has been cool enough to make the two bad dogs even more goofy than normal.

1 comments so far

birth & death